Review: Mocha Pleasures
Harlequin Kimani Romance

August 2016
REVIEWER:  Janet Caldwell | RATING:  B
REVIEW: Grief experienced after a relationship breakup is eerily similar to the grief suffered after the death of a loved one.  In MOCHA PLEASURES, grief interferes with the ability of the leading characters to relinquish the past and look to the future.  One is grieving the loss of a parent and the other is grieving the loss of a relationship.  They each manifest their grief differently, but until they are ready to drop this baggage they can’t move forward together.

Jackson Drayson is the last unattached Seattle Drayson.  Since opening their upscale bakery, Lillian’s of Seattle, his siblings, Mariah and Chase have made love connections.  Not Jackson.  He is the quintessential bachelor, a perpetual flirt and a master baker.  The latter evokes constant ribbing from his friends and even his parents. His last serious relationship ended when his mate committed the ultimate betrayal and now he vows never to be hurt again.

Grace Nicholas’ family owns “the other” high-end bakery in Seattle.  Her devious father recruits her to spy on Lillian’s of Seattle in an effort to thwart the rising success of the newcomer.  She doesn’t agree with her father’s practices, but her love for him overshadows her uneasiness. Grace is an accomplished baker and cook, but since the sudden death of her mother, grief has rendered her unable to engage in these activities she once enjoyed with her mother. While scoping out the competition, Grace spies an unexpected tasty delight that will change her life forever.

This story is set in Seattle which is consistent with the series.  In addition to Jackson and Grace, other characters impacting this story include Jackson’s siblings, his bougie parents and Grace’s scheming father. Although not physically present in this novel, Grace’s deceased mother and Jackson’s ex-girlfriend greatly impact our leading characters.

MOCHA PLEASURES is the third installment in The Draysons: Sprinkled with Love series.  Each novel in this series is written by a different author. That variance was apparent in this installment. Unlike the other parts in this series, the urge to read this novel nonstop didn’t exist. In some parts of the story the pacing seemed rushed and other times too slow. The frequent love scenes appeared more about the act and less about romance and diminished the storyline.

I enjoyed
The Draysons: Sprinkled with Love series.  Each installment is a stand-alone novel, but indulge in part three to follow the series to its conclusion.

11th September 2016 |